Stuck in the Wrong Art Movement

I have decided that I have been birthed into the wrong art movement. Or rather, to be haughty, contemporary art was birthed in the wrong century. Let’s replace it with romanticism.

I think I can attest that my entire interest in photography is very grounded in Romantic aesthetics. Something grand happened in my History of Photography class when we got into Pictorialism; I mimicked the style, worshipped the photographers, and hailed the painterly. I felt like I found somewhere to fit, until portfolio review happened and uncovered my lack of contemporary matter. Since then, I have been exploring other avenues because that’s the point of school. But somehow I have found my way back into Romanticism.

After realizing that I am in the world of contemporary art, I had to figure out what that meant for me and my love for Romanticism. It led me to wonder about New Romanticism and where nature stands in today’s society as sublime–or as not sublime.

I somehow manage to include some sublime-nature beauty into my work. Here are some scans of 4×5 black and white film for my next project (heavily sitting in the exploration of Romanticism in the contemporary world.)

img003 img004 img005

I have two more, but, out of poor judgement and overcompensation, I scanned them in so high that it crashed my laptop and destroyed the files; so I need to rescan them. Perhaps, I will update with those tomorrow.

Art has a double visage: it looks before and after. Romance is its forward-looking face. The germ of growth is in romanticism. Formalism, on the other hand, consolidates tradition; gleans what has been gained and makes it facile to the hand or the mind; economizes the energy of genius. –George Edward Woodberry

Spill your thoughts

