Throughout my Truancy

So, after my post apologizing for my absence, I went and looked to see when my last post was. It amazes me that I have left this blog out in the virtual world for a year without salvaging it. An entire year. A year ago was my last post, when I was turning 21. Here I am, about to turn 22 in a couple of days.

A lot of selfishness has found me in the past year, and I think it was the right kind of selfishness to push me forward into the world.

In the past year, I produced and supervised a successful summer camp program at my job with a private daycare. I learned managerial skills, I fell into an Assistant Director position which I have excelled at since. I’m gearing up for another amazing summer camp program. In the fall, I took Alternative Processes, Intro to Linguistic Anthropology, Digital Video for Artists, and Digital Possibilities.

The only one to care about is Alternative Processes. While I struggled throughout the course to produce good work, I had so much fun exploring alternative methods and using even more so alternative methods along with those, such as Van Dyke Brown printing on wood and cyanotype on sheer fabrics in fishtanks with a goldfish. I learned that I am a nature-born gum bichromate printer; this is very exciting for me because I am a romanticist at heart with a longing for painting and gum bichromate opens a couple of doors for that. I also excelled at tin types with beautiful images of my boyfriend.

During the fall semester, my boyfriend became a drag queen, which has been monumental in that I have a in-house model for fashion photo shoots! Exciting stuff.

Then came the Spring Semester. I am finishing out Directed, Art and Architecture of Ancient Rome, Oil Painting, and beginning a thesis.

Directed is a course where you spend the entire semester on one idea; exploring it as thoroughly as possible in the time given. I have been photographing trash and have gone from catalogued objective images of trash, photographs on trash, to photographs of trash with haiku by Jack Kerouac. What a journey.

I am very excited about my thesis, but I am keeping that under wraps until it comes closer to fruition. This semester is just the watering of the seed.

Oil painting has been very intriguing; I actually will pursue a series of oil paintings of old photographs, thinking of how arbitrary physical emanations of photographs are in this generation. How digitized everything is, yet I am taking the time to bring these photographs to realization. Something of nostalgia.

Keep your eyes peeled for a soon-coming article about my inspirations and interests moving forward from a year of explorations…and also tidbits of the work I have completed in the past year.

 

“Dusk–the bird/on the fence/a contemporary of mine.”

-Jack Kerouac

Spill your thoughts

